Island Of Honshu, Japan •

Last update: September 18th, 2019 at 6:00 pm

The country of Japan lies in Eastern Asia, east of the Korean Peninsula. The island chain is made up of over 6,850 islands and islets. Almost 97% of the land mass of the country lies in four main islands: Honshu, Hokkaido, Kyushu and Shikoku.

On November 4, 2015, the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) aboard NASA’s Terra satellite flew over the archipelago and captured this true-color image which is centered on the main island of Honshu.

Honshu is the largest island in Japan, and the most populous. It contains the capital city of Tokyo, which provides a home to over 13 million people. Tokyo can be seen as a large mass of gray on the southeast coast of the island. To the north of Tokyo the soft white form of low clouds (fog) fills the valleys of the rugged volcanic mountains. Further north a wisp of cloud stretches above the Tsugaru Strait which separates Honshu from the island of Hokkaido.


Fresh News coming
your way, Weekly

The biggest news about our planet
delivered to you each day