Ulawun, Langila, and Rabaul volcanoes On Papua New Guinea • Earth.com

Last update: October 19th, 2019 at 2:00 pm

Three volcanoes are simultaneously erupting on the island of New Britain, Papua New Guinea.

The first, Ulawun (located in the center-right of the island), is a stratovolcano, which is a steep, conical volcano built by thick lava flows. It is very active, erupting once every few years on average. It is part of an island arc, a string of volcanoes that forms over a “subduction zone” where two plates collide.

The second, Langila (on the far left of the island), is a complex volcano, consisting of a group of four overlapping cones. It is also highly active.

The third, Rabaul (on the far right side of the island), is classified as a pyroclastic shield. This means that it was created from fluid lava flows, producing a flat, dome-like shape.

Volcanoes can be highly destructive; however, volcanic soils are highly rich in minerals and in some places, geothermal energy has been tapped from young volcanoes.


Fresh News coming
your way, Weekly

The biggest news about our planet
delivered to you each day