Tropical Storm Colin headed into history • Earth.com
08-31-2016

Tropical Storm Colin headed into history

Tropical Storm Colin headed into history. The National Hurricane Center issued the last advisory on Tropical Storm Colin at 5 p.m. EDT (2100 UTC). At that time the center of Post-Tropical Cyclone Colin was located near 36.5 degrees north latitude and 72.2 degrees west longitude. That put the center of Colin about 205 miles (330 km) east-northeast of Cape Hatteras, North Carolina. The post-tropical cyclone was moving toward the northeast near 40 mph (65 kph) and that general motion is expected to continue through Wednesday night, June 8, 2016.

Maximum sustained winds were near 60 mph (95 kph) with higher gusts. Gradual weakening is expected to begin on Wednesday. The estimated minimum central pressure is 996 millibars. Tropical Storm Colin headed into history

On June 7, 2016 at 15:25 UTC (11:25 a.m. EDT) the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer or MODIS instrument aboard NASA’s Terra satellite captured a visible light image of Tropical Storm Colin off the southeastern United States.

Colin was elongated and looked more like a frontal system on satellite imagery.

On June 8, 2016 at 8:05 a.m. EDT, the National Hurricane Center said that surface trough (elongated area of low pressure) extends from the remnants of Colin into the western Atlantic through 32 degrees north latitude to 70 degrees west longitude to across Florida near Cape Canaveral continuing into the Gulf of Mexico. Scattered to numerous showers/isolated thunderstorms are southeast of the surface trough to a line from Cuba near 21 degrees north latitude and 77 degrees west longitude to Bermuda.

Post-Tropical Storm Colin’s remnants were speeding off to the northeast into the Atlantic and history.

News coming your way
The biggest news about our planet delivered to you each day