The Persian Gulf from space •

The Persian Gulf from space


The Persian Gulf from space Today’s Video of the Day from the European Space Agency features the Gulf, which is also known as the Arabian Gulf or the Persian Gulf.

The Gulf is bordered by eight countries including Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Qatar, United Arab Emirates, and Oman.

The various compositions of the countries are visible in this image captured by the Copernicus Sentinel-3 mission. Persian Gulf, Arabic Baḥr Fāris, Persian Khalīj-e Fārs, also called Arabian Gulf, shallow marginal sea of the Indian Ocean that lies between the Arabian Peninsula and southwestern Iran . The sea has an area of about 93,000 square miles (241,000 square km). Its length is some 615 miles (990 km), and its width varies from a maximum of about 210 miles (340 km) to a minimum of 35 miles (55 km) in the Strait of Hormuz.

The US Navy is in the Persian Gulf because they need to protect all the shipping that goes through it from threats such as pirates and obviously the Iranian Navy. Eight countries have access to the Persian Gulf: Bahrain, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.

By Chrissy Sexton, Staff Writer

Video Credit: European Space Agency

News coming your way
The biggest news about our planet delivered to you each day