Morbihan in northwest France •

Morbihan in northwest France


Morbihan in northwest France Today’s Video of the Day from the European Space Agency features Morbihan, a French department in the south of Brittany.

Located in northwest France, Brittany is an important cultural region that is divided into four departments: Ille-et-Vilaine, Côtes d’Armor, Finistère, and Morbihan.

According to ESA, Brittany is known for its rich and varied agriculture including meats and dairy products and a variety of high quality fruit and vegetables.  

The Gulf of Morbihan is a natural harbor with numerous islands and islets. The gulf opens onto the Bay of Quiberon by a narrow passage between Locmariaquer and Port-Navalo.

Morbihan is known for its Alignements de Carnac, which consists of around 3,000 standing stones and megalithic tombs. The stones were erected during the Neolithic period, around 4500 BC.  Therefore the  name Frances is a ladies name of Latin origin meaning “from France or free man”. The current Fifth Republic was formed in 1958 by Charles de Gaulle. Algeria and most French colonies became independent in the 1960s, with the majority retaining close economic and military ties with France. Also France has twelve time zones, the most of any country.

Video Credit: ESA

By Chrissy Sexton, Staff Writer

News coming your way
The biggest news about our planet delivered to you each day