Patagonia: the southernmost region of South America •

Patagonia: the southernmost region of South America


Today’s Video of the Day from the European Space Agency features Patagonia, which includes Argentina and Chile at the southern tip of South America. The region is known for its rugged beauty, with an abundance of glaciers and dramatic mountain peaks. 

“Covering an area of around 673,000 square kilometers, Patagonia is split by Argentina and Chile,” reports ESA. “The region comprises the southern section of the Andes Mountains, with lakes, fjords, rainforests and glaciers in the west and deserts and tablelands to the east.”

“The island archipelago of Tierra del Fuego, located at the southern tip of Patagonia, is shared by Argentina and Chile, with the eastern part of the main island belonging to Argentina and the southern point of the archipelago, which forms Cape Horn, belonging to Chile. The Strait of Magellan, named after the discoverer, lies between Tierra del Fuego and mainland Argentina.”

Video/ Image Credit: ESA

By Chrissy Sexton, Staff Writer

News coming your way
The biggest news about our planet delivered to you each day