The Shetland Islands of Scotland •

The Shetland Islands of Scotland


The Shetland Islands of Scotland Today’s Video of the Day from the European Space Agency features the Shetland Islands, an archipelago in the Northern Isles of Scotland. Among the 100 islands and islets that make up the archipelago, less than 20 are inhabited. 

The main town and port of the Shetland Islands is Lerwick, which is the capital of the largest island known as the Mainland.

Scotland is hosting this year’s United Nations climate change conference (COP26) from October 31 to November 12. ESA has a strong presence at COP26, demonstrating how satellite data can help scientists gain a better understanding of climate from space.  The Shetland Islands lie off the northeast coast of Scotland. Inhabited since around 3000 BC, the Shetland Islands were controlled by the Vikings and then later, Norway for several centuries. Today, the island still honors its Scandinavian heritage in its music, dialect, festivals and cuisine.

Shetland (Scots: Shetlan), also called the Shetland Islands and formerly Zetland, is a subarctic archipelago of Scotland that lies northeast of Great Britain. The exotic location of the coast-swept isle known as “Storm Island” which features in the second part of this movie was portrayed in this film by The Isle of Mull.

Video Credit: ESA 

By Chrissy Sexton, Staff Writer

News coming your way
The biggest news about our planet delivered to you each day