The city of Dehli, India's national capital territory •

Last update: June 15th, 2021 at 4:00 pm

Today’s Image of the Day from NASA Earth Observatory features Delhi, the capital territory of India and the fifth largest urban region in the world. 

In 2021, the population of Delhi and the surrounding metropolitan areas surpassed 31 million people. This region now links the surrounding cities of Ghaziabad, Greater Noida, Faridabad, and Gurgaon.

According to NASA, this urbanized area collectively stretches for 45 miles along the Yamuna River. 

The image was captured by an astronaut aboard the International Space Station (ISS)  on February 23, 2021.

Image Credit: NASA Earth Observatory 

By Chrissy Sexton, Staff Writer

Fresh News coming
your way, Weekly

The biggest news about our planet
delivered to you each day