The City of Seven Islands •

The City of Seven Islands Today’s Image of the Day from the European Space Agency features Mumbai on the western coast of India. Mumbai is located at the mouth of the Ulhas River, which carries sediments into the Arabian Sea. 

Just across the harbor, Navi Mumbai is the largest planned city in the world. It was developed to help lower the population of the congested area.

According to the United Nations, is the second-most populous city in the country after Delhi and the seventh-most populous city in the world with a population of roughly 20 million.

Mumbai is referred to as the “City of Seven Islands” because it was built on what was once an archipelago that included Isle of Bombay, Parel, Mazagaon, Mahim, Colaba, Worli, and Old Woman’s Island. Mumbai  has its history which many of us don’t know, Mumbai was an archipelago of “seven Islands”, namely Colaba, Mazagaon, Mahim, Parel, Bombay Island, Worli and Old Woman’s Island. This group of islands formed a part of the kingdom of Ashoka, the famed Buddhist emperor of India.  The seven islands of Bombay were a group of islands that were, connected to form the area of the modern city over the span of 5 centuries. The seven islands were gradually physically united through land reclamation projects. Also is one of the most famous cities in the world, which was earlier called Bombay.

Image Credit: ESA

By Chrissy Sexton, Staff Writer

News coming your way
The biggest news about our planet delivered to you each day