Fires and Smoke in Central United States •

Last update: September 15th, 2019 at 11:00 am

While ice still clings to the shores of Lakes Superior (top) and Michigan (bottom), spring’s green is creeping up from the south in this true-color Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) from the Aqua satellite on April 11, 2003. Brush clearing and other fires probably related to agricultural activities were detected by MODIS and are marked with red dots. Fires are concentrated in Oklahoma (bottom left) and Kansas (to the north), but are scattered across other states as well.

Credit: Jeff Schmaltz, MODIS Rapid Response Team, NASA/GSFC

Fresh News coming
your way, Weekly

The biggest news about our planet
delivered to you each day