NASA and JAXA Officials at the DPR Sign-Off Event

NASA and JAXA Officials at the DPR Sign-Off Event. JAXA DPR Project Manager Masahiro Kojima (seated left) formally signed over the DPR to GPM Project Manager Art Azarbarzin. And Behind from left to right: Minoru Okumura (NTSpace), Takeshi Miura (JAXA), Kai Hiroki (JAXA), Yasutoshi Hyakusoku (JAXA), Candace Carlisle (NASA), Arthur Hou (NASA), Steve Neeck (NASA), and Kiyotaka Uchimaru (NTSpace).

Therefore NASA was established in 1958, succeeding the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA). Therefore the new agency was to have a distinctly civilian orientation, encouraging peaceful applications in space science. Although the stablishment, most US space exploration efforts have been led by NASA, including the Apollo Moon landing missions, the Skylab space station, and later the Space Shuttle.

News coming your way
The biggest news about our planet delivered to you each day